Comiket 91 – Review

C91, a.k.a Pure Furies event. You’ll soon see why. Personally – it’s the best event after C85. No jokes. I feel like Touhou is rising anew.

1) 凋叶棕 (Diao ye zong) – 伝
tsutaebig
Crossfade

This albums theme will be legends – stories, call it how you want. Everything is kept in a Noh play style. RD is following his usual scheme of Gruesome > Normal > Gruesome and so on albums, so this one should be a bit lighter than 夢.
Favorite tracks: ♥四番目物「奈落唱」♥, 「幻想萬歳楽」, 「心綺楼」

2) FELT – Fluster Escape
banner460
Crossfade

Seems FELT’s not going to continue the style from the previous album – whether it’s good or not is debatable, as for me, I just like the way it is usually, but I wouldn’t mind if it stayed as in Parallel Cross. I don’t know how about you, but Tewi was someone I totally did not expect, not that I dislike their choice ofc, but comparing to C89 album, it’s… clearly not as good. I just hope NAGI won’t lose his goodness, kind of like Masayoshi Minoshima did. Time will tell.
Favorite tracks: C.A.G.E, IN THE RAIN,  Different Kind of Love

3) 豚乙女 – ぱらだいすろすと
fori_big_bannerr
Crossfade

This time, we are getting a mix between Lunarians (and those, who despise them) and our usual Hifuu duo. Theme of the album is a loss of ones home (d-dunno why Hecatia is there then) So far, I don’t think it beats ゲツメンタンサ, that might change in a while though.
Favorite tracks: ♥螺旋絶望♥, 七回目の冬, ままならない, 哀しそうで嬉しそうな物語

4) 死際サテライト – DEAD AGAIN
resize_image
Crossfade

Come back of Merami! Unfortunately it seems to be the end of EiSeitarou’s usual English lyrics, which saddens me a (lot)bit.
Favorite tracks: 観測ポラリス, 捻転プラネット, 思兼インジェクション

5) ZYTOKINE – 46 ChordeR/SYSTEMA SOLARE
33
Crossfade
31
Crossfade

Same as event before, we get a remix of an old album + all (insert ZYTOKINE vocalist) album. Can’t say I wouldn’t want something totally original, but the way it is now is good as well.
Favorite tracks: ARTIFICIAL NIGHT GLIDER, JUST ON TIME, 火鳥封月
Favorite tracks: daystar in the dark, pathfinders, ♥cold ring♥

6) Yonder Voice – 無名の楽園 〜 Piano Arrange Collection Vol.1
yvcdn0013-banner
Crossfade

Not the usual Yonder Voice. This time, their album features piano (re)arrangements! So, even if you didn’t like their previous style before, it might be good to take a second look at them. As for me, no matter what song, I’ll always appreciate a piano rearrangement of it, haha!
Favortie tracks: 白い海, 冬空花火, 千ノ縁 (Piano Arrange Ver.)

7) ぴずやの独房 (Pizuya’s Cell) – 交錯ディストーション
banner4681
Crossfade

Somehow, Pizuya makes Hifuu-club themed albums enjoyable, even though it’s a 3rd album in a row (orz). On another hand, this album has quite a different feel from the Kouromu 12 album, and a COMPLETELY different feel from the C90 one. It’s definitely better than the Kouromu one, but I’m not sure whether it beats Maze of Time Paradoxia.
Favorite tracks: 発光ダイオード屈折都市, Winding Road, ハイドの狂気的免罪符

8) 発熱巫女〜ず (Hatsunetsumiko’s) – TWICE
twce_banner
Crossfade

4 words: EL.J is my goddess.
Hatusnetsu is a perfect example of a summer circle – tracks they mroduce are the best to listen during a sunny, warm weather, while walking in the park, or just the streets of your town. At least that’s the feel I got from this album, and I must note, that I am not the biggest fan of hatsunetsu.
Favorite tracks: 夜間飛行, existence, Twice

9) 暁Records – KILLOVE FIREPROOF!/GIRLS ALBUM -ONE-
c91_1_big
Crossfade
c91_2_big
Crossfade

1st album is a Stack only album, nice! Stack is also arranging one track, which is a new thing. Not as good unfortunately as DOWN DOWN DOLL
Second album features a lot of vocalist, such as Nanahira, Meramipop and Chata. The tracks are pretty good, they’re all happy and upbeat (and oh I missed Chata a lot ;w;)
Favorite tracks: KilLove Fireproof!, DANGO ON FIRE, 死んだバラと悪魔のはなし
Favorite tracks: ココロコイシ – Eyes-, 月下の幻, リグレッション メモリー

10) 魂音泉 (TAMAONSESN) – STILLING
tos037_jkt_img_rgb
Crossfade

Alright, I’m SO positively surprised! I am even considering buying STILLING. Still, since Tamaonsen has never been my favorite circle, I put it a bit low, but I definitely recommend checking out the crossfades! Also Matsu+ytr combo is just nghhh ♥
Second album is just an off-vocal compilation.
Favorite tracks: テウルギスト, Dreamy Noise, STILL

11) 東方事変 (Touhou Jihen) – 限界パラドックス
040030488604-1p
Crossfade(full ver. of パラノイア)
Crossfade

Unfortunatly, we don’t have a full XFD (update: WE DO!). So far, I really enjoy it, so I hope other songs won’t let my expectations down.
There seems to be a special CD released with Chata and shuriken so I’m mostly excited about that!
Favorite tracks: パラノイア, 満潮-manchou-, パラドックス

12) DHS – My Interpretations
tumblr_static_129i56cjuqfkcs0wwo8ws0oso
Crossfade

I have never been an avid fan of DHS. That most likely won’t change, but the album is nice.
Favorite tracks: Season, Stargazer, Homesick

13) Register6 – 赤瞳ノ景色
34bf83_a6945d2526ab416a94b69550cdd5bd35-mv2_d_1263_1251_s_2
Crossfade

New Reg6! Unfortunatly, we don’t have  alot of new tracks,most of them are recycled ones :/
Favorite tracks: 冒険の書, Flag

14) Squall of Scream – I’ll be right here
cx8x_j7uoaacqtg
Crossfade

New Touhou metal circle! They’re affiliated with A.M.A., but the circle is led by Noof. So far they have got some interesting tracks, certainly looking forward to them.
Favorite tracks: Endless Remoat, 踊れファンシー, Plain Emotion

15) EastNewSound – Ironic Relation
ens0047_l
Crossfade

Nothing really special about this album, ENS is also releasing an instrumental ver. of Tragical Garnet, might look forward to that a bit.
Favorite tracks: 視的領域-my territory-, 陰翳観測、密室ノ独

16) Melonbooks Records – 東方PARTYBOX3
touhou_partybox03_bnr_400_64
Crossfade 1/2/3

Nothing I am looking that much forward in this disk. TOHOBOX still doesn’t beat Tora compilations.
Favorite tracks: hard 2 live, STAR FOLLOWER, LOVE”death”EAST

17) Frozen Starfall – Expedition
cover-768x762
Crossfade

Usual FS album, still has a bunch of pretty nice tracks.
Favorite tracks: ♥Escape into Petals♥, Regentanz, Golden Wings

18) Alstroemeria Records – SOL ET LUNA/IGNITION DANCEHALL/LOUD SPEAKER
Crossfade/Crossfade/Crossfade

Re-recording of some Mei tracks + one new song (which is pretty mediocre). I think I enjoy the re-recordings, the songs chosen in the album were one of my favs from Mei, so I’m not complaining. After all, I like old-alstr.
As for the favorite tracks from the rest of the albums, I only like ayame tracks.
Favorite tracks: Ancients, MANIACAL DEGREE, WIND A CLOCK

Leave a comment